Notable Alumni

500 Internal Server Error- 365体育投注-备用网址

Internal Server Error

The server encountered an internal error and was unable to complete your request. Either the server is overloaded or there is an error in the application.

Racing to the Top

With more than 30 years in the racing industry and as the CEO of International Speedway Corporation, Lesa Kennedy ’83 tops a new Forbes list featuring the "Most Powerful Women in Sports."



Tim Cook

Melissa Bernstein ’87: Cofounder, Melissa & Doug toys

Lisa Borders '79: President, WNBA

Martin Dempsey AM’84: Former chairman, U.S. Joint Chiefs of Staff

Chad Dickerson 93: CEO, Etsy

Amy Hood 94: CFO, Microsoft

Lesa Kennedy ’83: CEO, International Speedway Corporation

Adam Silver 84: Commissioner, NBA


Melinda French Gates

Elizabeth Dole ’58: Former U.S. senator, cabinet member and president of the American Red Cross

Sylvia Earle AM56, PhD66: Former chief scientist at National Oceanic and Atmospheric Association, Time magazine’s first Hero for the Planet

Paul Farmer 82: Physician and cofounder of the global-health organization Partners in Health

Neal Keny-Guyer ’76: CEO, Mercy Corps

Shannon Huffman Polson ’93: Former U.S. Army Apache Helicopter Pilot and Founder of the Grit Institute

David M. Rubenstein ’70: Philanthropist and cofounder of The Carlyle Group

Mayassa al-Thani ’05: Chairperson, Qatar Museums Authority, daughter of the Emir of Qatar


Ibtihaj Muhammad

Alana Beard ’04: Four-time WNBA All-Star

Grant Hill '94: Seven-time NBA All-Star. Turner Sports and NBA-TV broadcaster

Nancy Hogshead-Makar ’86: Won three gold medals in swimming, 1984 Olympics

Abby Johnston ’13: Silver medalist in diving, 2012 Olympics

Nick McCrory 14: Bronze medalist in diving at 2012 Olympics

Becca Ward 12: Won two medals in fencing at 2008 Olympics


Ge Wang

Kimberly Blackwell 89: Duke professor and oncologist, pioneer in breast-cancer research

William Kaelin Jr.'79, MD'83: Winner of 2016 Lasker Prize for cancer research

Josh Kun '93: Cultural historian and winner of 2016 MacArthur genius grant

Kathryn Minshew ’08: Founder of The Muse

Dylan Smith 08: Cofounder and CFO,

Luis von Ahn 00: Inventor of CAPTCHA Internet security system; MacArthur genius grant winner

Blake Wilson BSE74: Duke professor who co-developed the cochlear implant; won 2013 Lasker Award for clinical research


Retta Sirleaf

Amy Gravitt'95: Executive vice president of comedy, HBO

Ken Jeong 90: Comedian, TV and film actor (The Ken Jeong Show, The Hangover, Knocked Up)

Martin Kratt ’89: Co-host of PBS children’s show Wild Kratts

Mike Posner 09: Singer/songwriter

Charles Randolph-Wright 78: Director of Broadway musicals (Motown: The Musical)

Ryan White ’04: Documentary filmmaker (Good Ol’ Freda, The Case Against 8)

Robert Yeoman 73: Cinematographer (Drugstore Cowboy, The Royal Tenenbaums, Bridesmaids, The Grand Budapest Hotel)


Judy Woodruff

Dan Abrams 88: ABC News chief legal analyst and co-anchor of ABC’s Nightline

Jay Bilas ’86, JD’92: ESPN sports analyst

John Harwood 78: Chief Washington correspondent for CNBC, political writer for The New York Times

Nia-Malika Henderson 96: Senior political correspondent, CNN

JJ Ramberg '92: MSNBC host and anchor (Your Business)


Other Notables

Current Members of U.S. Congress

Mo Brooks ’75: U.S. House of Representatives (Alabama)

Bradley Byrne ’77: U.S. House of Representatives (Alabama)

Shelley Moore Capito ’75: U.S. senator (West Virginia)

Dan Lipinski PhD’98: U.S. House of Representatives (Illinois)

Rand Paul MD’88: U.S. senator (Kentucky)

Scott Peters '80: U.S. House of Representatives (California)

Dave Trott JD'85: U.S. House of Representatives (Michigan)


Heads of state

Richard Nixon JD’37: 37th president of the United States

Ricardo Lagos AM’63, PhD’66: President of Chile, 2000-2006


Nobel Prize winners

Hans Dehmelt Postdoc 1955: 1989 Nobel Prize winner in physics

Brian Kobilka Postdoc 1987: Co-winner (with Duke professor Robert Lefkowitz) of 2012 Nobel Prize in chemistry

Robert Richardson PhD66: 1996 Nobel Prize winner in physics

Charles Townes AM37: 1964 Nobel Prize winner in physics; winner of 2005 Templeton Prize


Names from history

Ian Barbour ’47: Won 1999 Templeton Prize for study of science and religion

Les Brown ’36: Musician, inducted into Big Band & Jazz Hall of Fame

David Hartman ’56: First host of Good Morning America

Sonny Jurgensen ’57: Hall of Fame NFL quarterback

Juanita Kreps AM'44, PhD'48: U.S. Secretary of Commerce, 1977-79

Charlie “Ace” Parker ’37: Played professional baseball and football (1937-1941), inducted into Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1972

Reynolds Price ’55: Poet, novelist and former Duke professor of English

William Styron ’47: Pulitzer Prize-winning novelist and essayist